Byte Your Tongue

09Jan09

My apologies for not blogging lately–the holiday season and the end of the year, between work and family and maintaining some sort of sanity, sort of chewed up my initiative to write.  That, and the fact that Mr Bene bought me a Nintendo DS for Christmas, which also consumed a lot of time and brainpower. Between his gift of Animal Crossing: Wild World, and my own purchase of Professor Layton and the Curious Village, which I managed to beat in just over a week.

Animal Crossing is more of a progressive RPG, and a soap opera understandable on multiple levels, if somewhat awkward.  But Professor Layton brings the best of puzzle cross-training with searching interactive mystery, and becomes more than a little obsessive.  It’s just a bit awkward.  Of course, it brings up the question of whether or not there are games for the DS that don’t use stereotypical characterization on all parts.  I mean, it’s a low-memory interface, there’s not much room to expand.  But Professor Layton‘s otherwise brilliant atmosphere–excellent graphics, good use of the DS stylus interface, Triplets of Belleville meets steampunk–is dimmed for me by the fact that the women are simpering or caretakers or stone bitches, and the minority characters are drawn somewhat problematically.

This is the kind of time where you want to turn off your brain and play.  Unfortunately, that’s not how I operate.

But it’s symptomatic of the greater problem in video games, which keeps coming to my attention, both in my reading of part of Game Boys (a narrative of the strikingly male-dominated world of professional Counter-Strike) and in Holly’s review and analysis of Mirror’s Edge.  Synopsis: we really haven’t gotten anywhere.

At least Xeni Jardin got to go to CES for Boing Boing…wait, she’s ended up playing with the cute toys and writing about mistaken signs and strollers.  Crap.

Yeah, I got nothing.



4 Responses to “Byte Your Tongue”

  1. 1 geekgirlsrule

    Animal Crossing is incredibly addictive, in spite of the passive aggressive emotional abuse and guilt trips heaped on you by the animals there if you don’t play for a while, or if you miss their birthday.

    It’s just like belonging to my family.

  2. lulz. I’m so glad I’m not alone. Seriously. They keep asking me for furniture, and it’s like, WHERE AM I SUPPOSED TO GET THIS FURNITURE, FFS? I HAVE A MORTGAGE, WHY WOULD I BUY YOU AN ARMOIRE?

  3. 3 Whiner

    Characterisation in Layton didn’t bother me until right at the very end… because until that point, I was fully expecting a reversal in which the ‘princess’ would turn out to be running the show, rather than a helpless prize. Argh.

  4. Honestly, Whiner, I think you hit the proverbial nail on the head–because that’s exactly what I expected to happen, too.


Leave a Reply

